The IARFuture Leadership Initiative is an opportunity to take your potential to the next level.  It is a one-of-a kind program designed to develop, train, and strengthen future generations of leaders working in not-for-profit social service agencies. The eight, day-long sessions and conference mini module offer you the chance to learn from leaders in organizations that are changing the face of service delivery and re-tooling their agencies to meet the opportunities of the future. It also offers the chance to create an amazing support network among your fellow participants.  

Why participate?

Through a series of modules developed by leading minds in the areas of organizational culture, strategic thinking, planning, decision making, and system advocacy, IARFuture class participants will learn and/or expand their skills to overcome organizational challenges, and innovate in a time of significant system change. IARFuture truly prepares the leaders of tomorrow!  Imagine the value of learning together and shared experiences – the networking opportunities to build professional relationships across sectors, the sharing of best practices and ideas to make our organizations stronger than they are today all while earning continuing education credits! Participants can earn up to 6 CEUs per session.

Who should be nominated?

Individuals within ​an organization who have exhibited the desire and capabilities to lead. There is no rigid age requirement for the application. No more than two applications per organization.


Learn more about the 2019 IARFuture Program: 

Session Dates

Learning Objectives



IARF Member: $2,800

Non-Member: $3,800

Tuition includes learning sessions, one hotel room for each session, lunch and dinner the day of each session and all materials.


Application Process

Please note that applications are no longer being accepted for 2019.





Questions should be directed to Maggie Henley - by phone (217)-801-9303 ext. 2or by email at mhenley@iarf.org.


2018 IARFuture Graduates

Ashley Hespen, Misericordia Home; Heather Levingston, Developmental Services Center; Jessica Liefer, Human Support Services; Amanda Long, Kreider Services; Kelly Stumme, Ray Graham Association; Joe Rasmussen, Crosspoint Human Services; Marquetta Jordan, Envision Unlimited; Laurie Wisdom, Open Door Rehabilitation Center; Tammy Diefendorf, Bridgeway, Inc.; Peter Niccum, Community Support Systems; James Sanchez, Envision Unlimited

Lauren Santefort, Cornerstone Services; Hollis Gorrie, Clearbrook; Liz Lutmer, Goldie B. Floberg Center; Bernita Simani, Clearbrook; Katherine Shuey, Kreider Services; Meghan Dowling, Association for Individual Development

(Not Pictured: Kurt Garcia, Goldie B. Floberg Center; Chad Garland, Cornerstone Services; Alexandra Halilovic, Shore Community Services; Heidi Logue, CCAR Industries; Jenny Munro, CCAR Industries; Kristin Werner, Glenkirk)


2017 IARFuture Graduates


Valena Younis-Atilade, Clearbrook; Kim Berenberg, Glenkirk; Denise King, Bridgeway; Gene Stephens, Open Door Rehabilitation Center; Nicole Safford; Opportunity House; Wanda Tatum, Opportunity House; Melissa McDaniel, CTF Illinois; Jennifer Carlson, Developmental Services Center; Emily Fencl, Clearbrook; Joan Snyder-Budz, Sertoma Centre; Christine Zanca, Search, Inc.; Kylie Doorn, Envision Unlimited; Patty Birkner, DDS of Metro East

Samantha Adamski, Association for Individual Development; Missy Munday, Cornerstone Services; Kim Hudgens, Cornerstone Services; Randi Mercado, Goldie B. Floberg Center; Cheryl Banasiak, Association for Individual Development; Megan Kuhn, Kreider Services; Brigette O'Brien; Kreider Services; Danielle Swango, CCAR Industries; Bobbie Eastin, CCAR Industries (Not Pictured: Cory Gumm, Glenkirk)


2016 IARFuture Graduates


Lori Randle, Blue Cap; Valencia Thompson, Blue Cap; Joyce Weston, Thresholds.; Marcos Herrera, Envision Unlimited; Patty Walters, Developmental Services Center; Danielle Matthews, Developmental Services Center; Rita Potter, Open Door Rehabilitation Center; Beth Owens, DDSME; Erin Ivancich, Goldie B. Floberg Center; Kate Strohmeier, DDSME; Hilaree Lombardo, Kreider Services; Kevin Schaefer, Trinity Services; Kristy Krisher, Bridgeway; Elizabeth Garcia, Goldie B. Floberg Center; Jacqueline Steward, Envision Unlimited (Not Pictured: Greg Petersen, Keystone Alliance)